How to Delete Amazon Account.
A lot of companies make it quite difficult to delete their account and you can count Amazon among them.
If you are finding it difficult to get your Amazon account deleted, then you are at the right place as we are going to show you how it’s been done.
Just as expected, Amazon doesn’t give you a straightforward option to delete your account on their website.
Instead, you’ll have to contact their customer service and ask them to do it for you. Here’s how:
How to Delete Amazon Account Permanently (New Way)
Amazon has updated a lot of things and that includes ways of deleting an account. So we recommend that you contact Amazon via online chat or calling Amazon customer service at 888-280-4331.
Then you ask the customer service representative to close your account.
How to Delete Amazon Account Permanently (Old Way)
- Visit Amazon.com, and then click on the Help section at the bottom of the page.
- Scroll down to where you will find browse help topics then click on need more help, then tap on contact us.
- Then Click on prime or something else.
- Then you will be given an option to contact the Amazon team by e-mail, phone, or chat.
- It will be written as Scroll down to tell us more and choose login and security and close my account.
How To Close Your Account On Phone
If you follow the phone option, a new page will open on your device. Then you enter your phone number and wait for the call.
The Amazon customer representative contacts will contact you, simply follow their instructions.
See Also: How To Buy And Ship Goods From Amazon
How To Close Your Account Via Online Chat
But if you chose the chat option, a new window will open. Enter the reason why you want to chat with an associate who will be displayed on your screen.
The Amazon associate will then send you an e-mail with detailed instructions on how to close your account.
Make sure you read the e-mail carefully and click the link in the e-mail to confirm the deletion.
Things That You Need To Know
There are some things you need to know before deleting your account.
Your Amazon account is shared across Amazon’s websites, so if you delete it, you’ll lose access to Amazon.com as well as international stores like Amazon.co.uk and Amazon-owned sites like Audible.com.
And you won’t be able to sign into any website you use your Amazon account for. Your Amazon Payments account will also be shut down.
You are going to lose access to basically everything. All open orders will be canceled, subscriptions like Amazon Prime will immediately end, and you’ll lose any Amazon gift card balance in your account.
You won’t be eligible to return purchased items for a refund or replacement. The Digital content you purchased will be gone and you won’t be able to redownload Kindle eBooks, Amazon videos, music, digital software and games, and whatever other digital content you might own.
Amazon itself will also delete your account’s purchase history and customer data, so any reviews, discussion posts, and photos you’ve uploaded to Amazon’s website will also be erased.
The only way to erase your Amazon purchase history is by closing your account and creating a new one. But you can archive some of your orders to make them less visible in the list of previous purchases.
This is a very unusual step to take. You don’t have to close your account if you just want to cancel Amazon Prime, change your email address or remove a payment method.
You can do every one of these without closing an account. But if you really think you have to, this is what you need to do.
With this guide that has been given to you above, I’m sure you would not have a problem deleting your Amazon account.
You can choose any of the options that suit you and I’m sure you took notice that there are things that you would not access after the deletion of the account irrespective of any past transactions.
If you have any questions that you will like to ask us, please do not hesitate to drop them in the comment section.